Oura vs Whoop
Ring 5, Ring 4 and the three WHOOP plans
Our overall winner is the Oura Ring 5. Oura makes a ring. WHOOP makes a screenless band. Both track sleep, stress and recovery, and both charge for the app. We compared Oura Ring 5, Oura Ring 4 and the three WHOOP plans sold on Amazon.
How we picked: we shortlist by Amazon Best Seller rank and number of ratings, then compare published specs. We don't test these products hands-on.
By Jamilur Rahman, Founder & Editor · Updated October 21, 2026
- Owner reviews checked
- Features side by side
- Quick & easy compare
- Smarter purchase

The short answer
For most people, the Oura Ring 5 is the one to buy. It is a titanium ring that Oura calls the world’s smallest smart ring, so you can wear it all day and all night with nothing on your wrist. The listing says it tracks more than 50 health metrics, covering sleep, activity, stress, heart health and women’s health, and it links to more than 40 apps. After the first month, Oura’s plan is about $6 a month.
Pick WHOOP Peak if training is the goal. WHOOP is a screenless band built around daily Strain and Recovery scores, with an AI coach in the app and a battery the listing rates at 14+ days. Pick the Oura Ring 4 if you want the ring for less: it is the older model, it still does the core job, and it sits in a lower price band than Ring 5. WHOOP One is the cheapest way into WHOOP, and WHOOP Life adds an on-demand ECG and daily blood pressure insights.
Skip Oura if you want to read your stats on your wrist. Neither device has a screen, so you check everything in the app. Skip WHOOP if you dislike wearing a band to bed, or if you want to buy a device once and pay nothing more. On Amazon, WHOOP comes bundled with a 12-month membership, and the listing shows no price for year two. If what you really want is calls, maps and apps on your wrist, look at our best smartwatches guide instead.
You may also see Fitbit Air in this fight. Google announced the screenless band in May 2026 for about $100. We could not find the device itself on Amazon on October 21, only bands and straps made for it, so it is not in the table.
How we picked: we read the Amazon listing for every model, compared what each plan includes and read what owners say. We don’t test hands-on, so the battery, sleep and accuracy claims below are the brands’ own. Checked October 21, 2026.
Compare them side by side
Everything that matters, in one table. Swipe to see all 5.
| Product | ![]() Best Overall Oura Ring 5 Smart ring (titanium) | ![]() Best for Training WHOOP Peak Screenless band with a 12-month plan | ![]() Best Value Ring Oura Ring 4 Smart ring (titanium) | ![]() Cheapest Way In WHOOP One Screenless band with a 12-month plan | ![]() Best for Heart Health WHOOP Life (MG) Screenless band with a 12-month plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BeastScore | 92 / 100 | 90 / 100 | 89 / 100 | 86 / 100 | 85 / 100 |
| Best for | Sleep tracking and all-day wear | Athletes and anyone who trains to a plan | Oura at a lower price than Ring 5 | Trying WHOOP for the lowest price | Heart-health tracking from the wrist |
| Typical price (checked October 21, 2026) | $400–$500 | $230–$250 | $350–$400 | $190–$210 | $350–$370 |
| Amazon price band | $400–$500 (by finish) | $230–$250 | $350–$400 | $190–$210 | $350–$370 |
| Plan | First month included, then $5.99 a month | 12-month Peak plan, device included | First month included, then $5.99 a month | 12-month One plan, device included | 12-month Life plan, device included |
| Battery (listing) | See listing | 14+ days | Up to 8 days | 14+ days | 14+ days |
| Worn as | Ring on a finger | Band on the wrist or arm | Ring on a finger | Band on the wrist or arm | Band on the wrist or arm |
| Standout tools | 50+ health metrics, 40+ app links | AI coach, Healthspan, Stress Monitor, SpO₂, skin temperature | Smart Sensing, HSA/FSA eligible | Strain, Recovery, sleep, VO2 Max | On-demand ECG, Blood Pressure Insights |
| Key features |
|
|
|
|
|
BeastScore here is our overall rating out of 100, based on published specs and Amazon owner reviews. Prices change daily, so tap "View on Amazon" for today's price. We may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Why each one made the list
What each pick does best, where it falls short, and the typical Amazon price when we checked.
- 1. Best Overall
Oura Ring 5
BeastScore 92 / 100Typically $400–$500 on Amazon (checked October 21, 2026)Ring 5 is Oura’s newest ring, and the listing calls it the world’s smallest smart ring, 40% smaller than the last generation. It is all titanium, which Oura says is more scratch-resistant and comfortable. Oura also says the sensors were rebuilt for “research-grade accuracy”. That is the brand’s claim, not ours. The ring tracks 50+ health metrics and sends them to the Oura app. There is no screen, no buzzing and no workout coaching. Owners buy it for sleep and recovery. Sizing is the catch: it has its own sizing, so order the sizing kit first.
Pros- Smallest, lightest Oura ring yet, per the listing
- Tracks 50+ metrics, including sleep, stress, heart and women’s health
- Links to 40+ apps, including Natural Cycles and Strava
Cons- The highest up-front price of the rings here
- Needs the matching sizing kit before you buy
- The listing does not state battery life
- 2. Best for Training
WHOOP Peak
BeastScore 90 / 100Typically $230–$250 on Amazon (checked October 21, 2026)WHOOP Peak is the plan most people mean when they say “WHOOP”. For one price, the listing includes a WHOOP 5.0 band, a SuperKnit band and a Waterproof Wireless PowerPack that charges it while you wear it. The app turns heart rate, HRV and sleep into Recovery and Strain scores plus an AI coach. Peak adds Healthspan, a live Stress Monitor, blood oxygen and skin temperature over the cheaper One plan. The listing claims 14+ days of battery. It is a training tool first. It tells you when to push and when to rest, and it has no screen.
Pros- 14+ day battery, with charging on the wrist
- The strongest training coaching here: Strain, Recovery and an AI coach
- Adds Healthspan, a Stress Monitor, SpO₂ and skin temperature
Cons- Sold as a 12-month plan, and the listing shows no renewal price
- A band on the wrist all night suits some sleepers less than a ring
- No screen, so you read everything in the app
- 3. Best Value Ring
Oura Ring 4
BeastScore 89 / 100Typically $350–$400 on Amazon (checked October 21, 2026)Ring 4 is the older Oura, and on Amazon it sits in a lower price band than Ring 5. The listing says it uses Smart Sensing for steady data day and night, tracks 50+ metrics and lasts up to 8 days on a charge. It is all titanium and water resistant. It syncs with 40+ apps, including Apple Health, Google Health Connect and Flo. If you do not need Ring 5’s smaller body, Ring 4 covers the same core sleep and recovery job for less. It uses Oura’s special sizing too, so get the Ring 4 sizing kit first.
Pros- A lower price band than Ring 5
- Up to 8 days of battery, stated on the listing
- HSA and FSA funds accepted, per the listing
Cons- An older design than Ring 5
- Still needs a sizing kit and a monthly plan
- No screen and little training coaching
- 4. Cheapest Way In
WHOOP One
BeastScore 86 / 100Typically $190–$210 on Amazon (checked October 21, 2026)WHOOP One is the lowest-priced way to get a WHOOP 5.0 band. The listing says the 12-month plan comes with the device, a CoreKnit band and a basic corded charger. You still get the core: 24/7 heart rate and HRV, sleep stages, Strain, Recovery, VO2 Max and the AI coach. The One listing does not mention Healthspan, the Stress Monitor, blood oxygen or skin temperature, which Peak lists. It also has no wireless PowerPack, so you take the band off to charge. For training load and rest days on a budget, it covers the basics.
Pros- The lowest price to start with WHOOP
- 14+ day battery, per the listing
- Same core coaching: Strain, Recovery, sleep and an AI coach
Cons- Basic corded charger, so you take the band off to charge
- The listing names fewer health tools than Peak
- Sold as a 12-month plan, not a one-time device price
- 5. Best for Heart Health
WHOOP Life (MG)
BeastScore 85 / 100Typically $350–$370 on Amazon (checked October 21, 2026)Life is the top WHOOP plan, and it comes with the WHOOP MG device. The listing says it adds an on-demand ECG that checks for potential signs of AFib, plus Blood Pressure Insights that estimate daily ranges from overnight data. You also get everything in Peak: Healthspan, the AI coach and 14+ days of battery. The SuperKnit Luxe band and wireless PowerPack are in the box. Treat the ECG and blood pressure figures as wellness insights, not a diagnosis, and talk to your doctor about any result. It costs the most of the five, so pick it only if heart data matters to you.
Pros- On-demand ECG from the wrist, per the listing
- Daily blood pressure insights
- Everything in Peak, plus the premium band
Cons- The highest price of the five
- Blood pressure figures are estimates, not a cuff reading
- Still a screenless band with a 12-month plan
All 5 compared, in one look
See every pick on one chart, or tap one to put it head to head with Oura Ring 5. Ratings out of 10 are our estimates from published specs and Amazon owner reviews, not hands-on tests. Bigger shape = better.
- Sleep trackingOura Ring 5 · 9.4/10
- ComfortOura Ring 5 · 9.6/10
- BatteryTie
- Training coachingWHOOP Peak · 9.8/10
- Health toolsWHOOP Life (MG) · 9.8/10
- ValueWHOOP One · 9.2/10
Who wins where
The winner of each category, based on published specs and Amazon owner reviews. Pick the rounds that matter to you.
- Round 1
Price and plans
WHOOP One winsWHOOP costs less to start: the One plan sits in the $190–$210 band and includes the band. The Oura rings sit in the $350–$500 bands, then add $5.99 a month after the first month. Oura’s plan is the smaller ongoing bill. But the WHOOP listings show only the first 12 months, so check WHOOP’s renewal price in its app before you buy.
- Round 2
Sleep tracking
TieBoth track sleep stages and build a recovery view on top. WHOOP lists REM, deep, light and awake time, plus sleep need, sleep debt and consistency. Oura folds sleep into its 50+ metrics. Owners often say a ring is easier to forget at night than a band, but that is comfort, not accuracy. We have not tested either brand’s accuracy claims.
- Round 3
Comfort and looks
Oura Ring 5 winsA ring is less to wear than a band. The Ring 5 listing says it is 40% smaller than the last generation and made of titanium. WHOOP’s band is light and screenless, but it is still on your wrist or arm all day and night.
- Round 4
Battery
WHOOP Peak winsWHOOP lists 14+ days, and the Peak and Life plans include a waterproof wireless PowerPack that charges the band while you wear it. The Oura Ring 4 listing says up to 8 days. The Ring 5 listing does not state a number.
- Round 5
Training coaching
WHOOP Peak winsWHOOP is built around training load. Daily Strain and Recovery scores and the AI coach tell you how hard to push and when to rest, and the Journal tracks 160+ daily behaviors. Oura focuses on sleep, activity and recovery in everyday life. If you lift or run to a plan, WHOOP is the closer fit.
- Round 6
Heart-health tools
WHOOP Life (MG) winsOnly WHOOP Life lists an on-demand ECG for potential signs of AFib and daily Blood Pressure Insights. Oura tracks heart health too, but neither Oura listing mentions an ECG. These are wellness tools, so share any result with your doctor.
- Round 7
Apps and women’s health
TieBoth link to Natural Cycles and Strava and offer women’s health and cycle insights. Oura lists 40+ app links. WHOOP lists Apple Health, Google Health Connect, Natural Cycles, Withings, Peloton and Strava.
Which one should you buy?
Find your situation below. That's your pick.

- You want sleep and recovery data without a screen
- You want the smallest, lightest option
- You prefer a small monthly plan to a yearly one

- You train to a plan and want Strain and Recovery scores
- You want 14+ days of battery and charging on the wrist
- You want Healthspan and a stress monitor

- You want an Oura ring but not the newest-model price
- You want 8 days of battery stated on the listing
- You want to use HSA or FSA funds

- You want to try WHOOP for the lowest price
- You mainly want Strain, Recovery and sleep
- You don’t mind charging with the band off

- You want an ECG and blood pressure insights from the wrist
- You will pay more for the premium plan
- You want everything WHOOP offers

Oura Ring 5
A tiny titanium ring that tracks sleep, stress and recovery all day and night, with a plan of about $6 a month after the first month.
- Smallest Oura ring yet
- 50+ health metrics
- Links to 40+ apps
Quick tips before you buy
Oura rings use their own sizing, not jewelry sizing, and Ring 5 sizes differ from Ring 4. Use the matching sizing kit, wear it for a day or two, then buy the ring.
Ring 4 lists up to 8 days and WHOOP lists 14+ days. Charge during a shower or a desk day so you do not lose a night of sleep data.
Both need a plan to show your data. Check the price after the first month or the first 12 months, and how to cancel, before you buy.
The Oura listings we checked ship from and are sold by Amazon.com. The WHOOP listings were sold by WHOOP AUTHORIZED. Check the seller and the return policy for anything you wear on your body.
Quick answers
Is Oura or Whoop better?+
Oura is better for most people: a small ring that tracks sleep and recovery with little effort. WHOOP is better if you train hard and want daily Strain and Recovery coaching, a longer battery and a band that charges on your wrist. Neither has a screen.
Do Oura and Whoop need a subscription?+
Yes, both use a plan. The Oura listings say the first month is included, then $5.99 a month. The WHOOP listings are a 12-month plan with the device included. We found no plan-free option for either brand on Amazon.
Oura Ring 5 vs Oura Ring 4: is the upgrade worth it?+
Only if size matters to you. Ring 5 is 40% smaller per the listing and Oura says its sensors were rebuilt. Ring 4 lists up to 8 days of battery, tracks 50+ metrics and costs less. If you are happy with a slightly larger ring, Ring 4 is the better value.
What is the difference between WHOOP One, Peak and Life?+
One is the base plan with the band and a corded charger. Peak adds Healthspan, a live Stress Monitor, blood oxygen, skin temperature and a wireless PowerPack. Life adds an on-demand ECG and daily Blood Pressure Insights, and comes with the WHOOP MG device.
Which is better for sleep: Oura or Whoop?+
Both track sleep stages and show a recovery view. Many owners prefer a ring for sleeping because it is small and has no band, while others like WHOOP’s sleep need and sleep debt numbers. We have not tested accuracy, so pick the one you will wear every night.
Oura vs Whoop vs Fitbit Air: what about Google’s band?+
Fitbit Air is Google’s screenless band, announced in May 2026 for about $100. We could not find the device itself on Amazon on October 21, only straps and bands for it. If you want a cheaper screenless tracker, watch for it. Until then, WHOOP One is the cheapest option in this table.
Can I pay for Oura or Whoop with HSA or FSA funds?+
The listings say yes in part. The Oura Ring 4 listing says HSA or FSA funds can pay for the ring, chargers and shipping. The WHOOP listings say 12-month memberships and battery packs are HSA and FSA eligible. Check your plan’s rules before you buy.
Keep comparing
Best Smart Rings: Top 5 on AmazonTrack sleep and health 24/7, with no screen on your wrist.
Best Smartwatches: Top 5 on AmazonHealth, fitness and notifications on your wrist, compared.
Best Smartwatches Under $200: Cheap picks that lastNotifications, GPS and fitness tracking without paying flagship prices.