Amazon has redesigned its whole Kindle lineup.
On October 1, 2026, Amazon announced a new Kindle, Kindle Paperwhite and Kindle Colorsoft. All three are thinner and lighter, and all three now have a flat, flush-front screen with no raised border around it.
The new 6-inch Kindle went on sale the same day, starting at $149.99. The new Paperwhite starts at $199.99 and the new Colorsoft starts at $289.99. Both are on preorder now and are set to ship on October 28, 2026, according to TechRepublic, Good e-Reader and TechMyMoney. Amazon itself says preorders open "on a rolling basis" by region.
Here is what changed, how the three compare, and which one makes sense for you.
Key dates
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| August 2026 | Kindle and Paperwhite prices go up (Kindle from $109.99 to $149.99, Paperwhite from $159.99 to $199.99, per TechRepublic) |
| October 1, 2026 | Amazon announces the redesigned Kindle lineup |
| October 1, 2026 | New 6-inch Kindle goes on sale; Paperwhite and Colorsoft preorders open |
| October 28, 2026 | New Kindle Paperwhite and Kindle Colorsoft ship in the US |
Specs and prices at a glance
Prices and specs come from Amazon's announcement, with extra details from TechRepublic and Good e-Reader.
| Kindle | Kindle Paperwhite | Kindle Colorsoft | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $149.99 | $199.99 | $289.99 |
| Screen | 6-inch, black and white | 7-inch, black and white | 7-inch, color |
| Sharpness | 300 ppi | Not stated by Amazon | 300 ppi black and white, 150 ppi color |
| Storage | 16GB | 16GB | 16GB |
| Battery (up to) | 6 weeks | 12 weeks | 8 weeks |
| Waterproof | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Warm light | Not stated (adjustable brightness) | Yes | Yes |
| Colors | Ube, Graphite | Graphite | Graphite |
| Ships | On sale now | October 28 | October 28 |
The premium versions
Each model also has a step-up version:
| Kindle (aluminum) | Paperwhite Signature Edition | Colorsoft Signature Edition | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $189.99 | $249.99 | $319.99 |
| Storage | 32GB | 32GB | 32GB |
| Back | Aluminum (80% recycled) | Aluminum | Aluminum |
| Auto-adjusting light | No | Yes | Yes |
| Double-tap to turn pages | No | Yes | Yes |
| Dock charging | No | Yes | Yes |
| Colors | Alpine Sky, Seaglass Green | Graphite, Seaglass Green | Graphite, Fig |
There are also Kids versions of all three, starting at $179.99. They come with a kids cover and 12 months of Amazon Kids+.
What is new
- A flat screen. Amazon says it built the screens with a new "reverse stack" design, which it calls a first for e-readers. The result is a screen that sits flush with the front, with no lip around the edge.
- Thinner and lighter. All three models are thinner and lighter than the last generation. Good e-Reader lists the new Colorsoft at 204 grams, and 229 grams for the Signature Edition.
- Color that wraps around. The color of the case now runs from the back around to the front. New colors include Ube (a purple), Alpine Sky, Seaglass Green and Fig.
- A faster small Kindle. Amazon says the new 6-inch Kindle opens books 30% faster than the previous model. Amazon calls it the most pocket-sized Kindle it has made.
- The biggest Paperwhite screen yet. Amazon says the new Paperwhite has its largest Paperwhite display and its highest contrast ratio so far.
- A brighter Colorsoft screen. The Colorsoft uses a new light guide with nitride LEDs. Amazon says this boosts color and brightness without washing out detail. You can highlight in five colors: yellow, orange, blue, pink and green.
New accessories
- Kindle Click ($34.99): a small Bluetooth remote to turn pages. It works with the new models and any Kindle from 2024 or later.
- Page-Turn Cover ($79.99): a magnetic cover with physical page buttons. It only fits the two Signature Editions.
- Charging Dock ($59.99): a stand that holds and charges the two Signature Editions.
The catches
- Prices went up. TechRepublic notes the base Kindle was $109.99 and the Paperwhite was $159.99 before an August price rise. The new models now start $40 higher.
- Color costs a lot more. The Colorsoft is $90 more than the Paperwhite, and its color pages are lower resolution (150 ppi) than black-and-white text (300 ppi).
- Shorter battery on Colorsoft. It is rated for up to 8 weeks, against up to 12 weeks for the Paperwhite.
- Docks and button covers need a Signature Edition. The standard Paperwhite and Colorsoft cannot use them.
- No full reviews yet. The Paperwhite and Colorsoft do not ship until October 28. TechRepublic also points out that the first Colorsoft (2024) had reports of a yellow tint on screen, which Amazon later addressed with software and display changes. It is worth checking early reviews of the new screen.
Kindle vs Paperwhite vs Colorsoft: where each wins
- Kindle wins on size and price. At 6 inches it fits in a pocket, and at $149.99 it is the cheapest way into the new lineup.
- Paperwhite wins for most readers. For $50 more than the Kindle you get a bigger 7-inch screen, waterproofing, warm light and double the battery life.
- Colorsoft wins if you read anything with color: comics, graphic novels, travel guides, cookbooks or picture books. It also makes book covers in your library show in color.
- Signature Editions win if you want hands-free page turns with the dock or button cover, auto light, and 32GB of space for audiobooks.
Check Kindle Colorsoft (newest model) price on Amazon
Which should you buy?
- You read novels and want the best value: get the Kindle Paperwhite ($199.99). It ships October 28.
- You want the smallest, cheapest Kindle: get the 6-inch Kindle ($149.99). It is on sale now.
- You read comics, manga in color, or illustrated books: get the Kindle Colorsoft ($289.99).
- You read in the bath or by the pool: pick the Paperwhite or Colorsoft. Amazon lists both as waterproof.
- You want physical page buttons: you need a Signature Edition plus the $79.99 Page-Turn Cover, or the $34.99 Kindle Click remote with any new model.
- Wait: if your current Kindle still works well, wait for reviews of the new Paperwhite and Colorsoft after October 28 before you upgrade.
Check Kindle Paperwhite (newest model) price on Amazon
Thinking about a tablet instead? See our Galaxy Tab S12 Ultra vs iPad Pro M5 comparison, or Amazon's new Alexa Tablet lineup.
Other tech news this week
- Apple holds its "Welcome Home" event on October 13. A new home hub, HomePod mini and Apple TV are expected. Read our Apple October 13 event preview.
- Bose is back with wired earbuds. The $99 Noise Cancelling Wired Earbuds ship on October 15. See our Bose wired earbuds vs EarPods breakdown.
- Microsoft's Surface Laptop Ultra starts at about $2,600. Here is how it stacks up in our Surface Laptop Ultra vs MacBook Pro 16 article.
Sources
- About Amazon: The new Amazon Kindle lineup: thinner, lighter, edge-to-edge color
- TechRepublic: Amazon's new Kindle lineup compared: Kindle vs Paperwhite vs Colorsoft
- Good e-Reader: Amazon Kindle Colorsoft 2026 e-reader is out soon
- TechMyMoney: New Kindle lineup starts at $149.99, Paperwhite and Colorsoft ship October 28
Image: Amazon press materials (new Kindle Colorsoft).






