Samsung's One UI 9 update, built on Android 17, is now reaching the Galaxy Z Fold 6 and Galaxy Z Flip 6 in the US. IntoMobile, citing Android Headlines, reported on October 12, 2026 that the rollout has started with factory-unlocked models. Carrier models usually follow later.
The update started in South Korea for these two phones on October 6, along with the Galaxy S24 series. So the US got it less than a week later. Not every phone will see it on day one, because Samsung releases updates in waves.
If you own a Fold 6 or Flip 6, this is the first Android 17 update for your phone. If you are shopping for a new Galaxy, it also changes the math. Your old phone just got a lot of the same software as Samsung's newest models.
One UI 9 rollout: key dates
Samsung only gave one official date: September 16 for the Galaxy S26 series in Korea. The other dates below come from SammyGuru's rollout tracker and news reports, so treat them as reported, not official.
| Phone | South Korea | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra, Fold8, Flip8 | Shipped with One UI 9 | Shipped with One UI 9 |
| Galaxy S26, S26+, S26 Ultra | Sept 16 (official) | Sept 23 (T-Mobile), Sept 28 (unlocked) |
| Galaxy S25, S25+, S25 Ultra | Sept 28 | Oct 3 (some carriers), Oct 5 (unlocked) |
| Galaxy Z Fold7, Z Flip7 | Sept 28 | Oct 2 (some carriers), Oct 5 (unlocked) |
| Galaxy S25 FE, S25 Edge | Sept 28 | Oct 5 |
| Galaxy S24 series, S24 FE | Oct 6 | Not yet reported |
| Galaxy Z Fold 6, Z Flip 6 | Oct 6 | Rolling out now (unlocked first) |
| Galaxy Z Fold Special Edition, Galaxy A57 | Oct 6 | Not yet reported |
| Galaxy S23 FE | Not yet | "Later this year" |
One note on the Fold 6 and Flip 6. ChannelNews reported on October 8 that the update was still Korea-only and that Samsung had not confirmed a US timetable. IntoMobile's October 12 report is newer. If you do not see the update yet, it is likely still on its way.
Download size and how to get it
| Galaxy Z Fold 6 / Z Flip 6 | Galaxy S24 series | |
|---|---|---|
| Base | Android 17, One UI 9 | Android 17, One UI 9 |
| Build ending | EZIH | Not stated |
| Download from beta | About 408MB | About 500MB |
| Download from One UI 8.5 | About 3.5GB | About 3.8GB |
| Security patch | Not stated | September 5, 2026 |
These sizes come from ChannelNews. To check by hand, go to Settings > Software update and tap Download and install. Use Wi-Fi and charge your phone first. A 3.5GB download on mobile data is a lot.
What's new in One UI 9
Samsung's own press release lists the main features. Here are the ones most people will notice:
- My FanCam. Pick a person in a video and the phone keeps them centered as they move. Good for a child's school play or a concert. It needs a Samsung Account.
- Now Brief cards. You can build your own cards for health, weather and video, so your daily summary shows what you care about.
- Now Nudge. Gives suggestions while you use other apps. For example, while texting about dinner plans it can pull up a reservation or save a shared location.
- Interpreter Thread View. Live translation now shows earlier lines of the chat, so it is easier to follow. Samsung says Conversation Mode is also faster.
- Document Scan. Handles curved book pages and folded corners better.
- Voice Recorder. Summaries now use headings and tables.
- Warranty and Care. A new Settings page shows your warranty, runs self-checks and lets you book a repair.
- Privacy Alerts. Uses on-device AI to warn you when apps try to use permissions in the background. Samsung lists the Fold 6 and Flip 6 as supported, along with the S23 and newer.
- Security Brief. Adds malware and risky-app warnings to Now Brief.
- Scam Detection. Expands to more countries, including Japan, Canada and India.
IntoMobile also lists a more flexible Quick Panel, deeper Gemini tie-ins and DeX and Samsung Notes upgrades for the Fold 6 and Flip 6. Samsung notes that some features vary by country, language and model, so your phone may not get every item.
Does this change which Galaxy you should buy?
Software is no longer the main gap between a 2024 foldable and a 2026 one. A Fold 6 on One UI 9 gets My FanCam, Privacy Alerts, the new Interpreter and Now Brief cards. What it does not get is new hardware.
The Galaxy Z Fold8 uses the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy chip. Samsung calls it the lightest Fold yet and says it has the brightest display on a Galaxy phone. Those are real gains, but they are hardware gains. An update cannot add them to an older phone.
There is also the timing question. IntoMobile reports that One UI 9.5 is expected in early 2027 with the Galaxy S27 series. The S26 and Fold7 and Flip7 are expected to get it next, with the Fold 6 and Flip 6 after them. Newer phones get updates first. They also get them for more years.
Which should you buy?
- Keep your Fold 6 or Flip 6 if it works well. Install One UI 9. You get most of the new Galaxy AI tools for free.
- Buy the Galaxy Z Fold8 if you have a Fold 4 or older, or your battery or hinge is wearing out. It is lighter, brighter and will get updates for longer.
- Buy the Galaxy S26 Ultra if you want a slab phone with an S Pen and a Privacy Display, and you do not need a foldable. It got One UI 9 first in the US.
- Look at a used Fold 6 if you want a foldable on a budget. One UI 9 makes it feel much newer.
- Wait if you are not in a hurry. The Galaxy S27 series is expected in early 2027 with One UI 9.5, and holiday sales may lower prices on current models. Reports also say Galaxy prices may rise next year, so waiting is not risk-free. See our article on Samsung phone prices.
Check Galaxy Z Fold8 price on Amazon
Torn between a foldable and an iPhone? Read our iPhone Duo vs Galaxy Z Fold8 guide, or line up phones side by side in our compare tool.
Other tech news this week
- OnePlus launched the OnePlus 16 in China on October 12, with a 9,000mAh battery and a 200MP main camera. Sales there start October 13. Reports say a US release is unlikely.
- Google opened preorders for the $179.99 Fitbit Edge on October 12. It ships October 27. See our Fitbit Edge preview.
- Microsoft's Surface Laptop Ultra, the first laptop with Nvidia's RTX Spark chip, ships on October 16 from $2,599.
Sources
- Samsung Newsroom: Samsung Begins Official Rollout of One UI 9
- IntoMobile: One UI 9 is rolling out now to Galaxy Z Fold 6 and Z Flip 6 in the US
- ChannelNews: Samsung's One UI 9 Update Lands On Galaxy Z Fold 6 And Z Flip 6
- SammyGuru: One UI 9 Rollout Tracker
- GSMArena: Galaxy S25 series, Z Fold7 and Z Flip7 now getting stable One UI 9
- Tech Startups: Top Tech News Today, October 12, 2026
Image: One UI 9's My FanCam feature, via Samsung Newsroom.





